2020-21 Regular Season Schedule Announced, Pistons Open Up on Road

The MJHL have announced the regular season schedule for the 2020-21 season, and the Steinbach Pistons will open up on the road on October 9th against the newest team in the MJHL.

For the first time since the 2002-03 season there will be 12 teams in the league with the addition of the Freeze. The teams will be split into three divisions for the regular season, with the Pistons situated in the Southeast Division with the Freeze, Winnipeg Blues, and the Selkirk Steelers.

Another new change is that there will be a 40-game schedule instead of the usual 60-game season to minimize risk of exposure to COVID-19 between teams, and to limit the amount of provincial travel due to the pandemic.

The Pistons open up the season at the RINK Training Centre against the expansion Winnipeg Freeze on October 9th, and the 2020 Home Opener will be the following day against the Freeze at the TG Smith Centre at 7:30.

All games will be played on weekends throughout the season, and each team will only play two games per week. Each team will play the other three teams within their division eight times during the regular season (Four Home/Four Away), and each team will play the eight teams outside of their division just twice during the season.

The playoff format will be announced by the league in the coming weeks. For the full Pistons schedule this season, click HERE.

The Pistons will provide an update on ticket information before the October 10th home start date, stay tuned to Steinbachpistons.ca and all Pistons social media outlets for that information.