Three Pistons Recognized for Awards


The MJHL announced Saturday morning that Steinbach Pistons forward Daniel Taillefer won the Hockey Ability Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy for most sportsmanlike player along with being named to the MJHL’s 2nd All-Star Team. 

Pistons captain and Colgate University bound Tyler Penner was named to the MJHL 2nd All-Star team and 17 year-old rookie defenseman from Steinbach, Darby Gula was named to the MJHL All-Star Rookie team. 

“Every player should be commended for their outstanding performance over the regular season,” said Davis. “Coaches of the league vote and make the selections. These selections are extremely difficult to make. The talent level in our league is reflective in how difficult it was to select these respective teams.”

The Steinbach Pistons want to congratulate Taillefer, Penner and Gula along with all of the other award recipients. 

MVP ─ Steve “Boomer”  Hawrysh Award

Brad Bowles, Portage Terriers

Rookie of the Year – Vince Leah Trophy

Nick Henry, Portage Terriers


Hockey Ability – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy

Dan Taillefer, Steinbach Pistons

Top Goaltender

Nathan Park, Portage Terriers


Top Defenseman – Brian Kozak Trophy

Brett Orr, Portage Terriers


Coach of the Year – Portage Terriers “ Muzz McPherson” Award

Blake Spiller, Portage Terriers




Goal Nathan Park Portage Terriers
Defense Brett Orr Portage Terriers
Defense Brady Keeper OCN Blizzard
Forward Brad Bowles Portage Terriers
Forward Logan Harland OCN Blizzard
Forward Tristan Keck Winkler Flyers




Goal Sean Kuehn Virden Oil Capitals
Defense Zach Whitecloud Virden Oil Capitals
Defense Zak Hicks Winkler Flyers
Forward Kamerin Nault Winnipeg Blues
Forward Daniel Taillefer Steinbach Pistons
Forward Tyler Penner Steinbach Pistons




Goal Emilien Boily OCN Blizzard
Defense Tyler Jubenvill Winkler Flyers
Defense Darby Gula Steinbach Pistons
Forward Nick Henry Portage Terriers
Forward Bennett Dalke Virden Oil Capitals
Forward Josh Tripp Swan Valley Stampeders


Each all-star winner will receive their award at their home rink over the next two weeks. The MJHL’s top scorer, who will be decided upon season’s end, will receive the Mike Ridley Trophy, named after the prolific goal scorer who starred with the St. Boniface Saints.