Dyck, Bengert Garnered MJHL Awards

Two members of the Steinbach Pistons have been honoured as the Manitoba Junior Hockey League announced their 2016-17 major award winners Friday morning.

Head coach Paul Dyck and goaltender Roman Bengert have both been acknowledged for their contributions this season to the first place Pistons.

Dyck wins the Muzz McPherson Coach of the Year Award as he has guided the Pistons, ranked fourth in the country, to a MJHL pennant-winning record of 45-8-1, as the Pistons clinched first place with three weeks remaining in the regular season.

Now in his fifth year with the Pistons, Dyck led the Pistons to the 2012-13 MJHL championship in his first full year behind the bench and under his tutelage the Pistons have also made it to the MJHL the past two seasons.

Bengert, the native of Cole Harbour, NS, has been a steady force between the pipes for the Pistons all season long has he has been a major factor in the success of the Pistons this season. He leads the league with 34 wins and five shutouts this season and also in minutes played. He sports a 2.09 goals against average and .928 save percentage, both second in the league.

But the Pistons were shutout of three other major categories that they had players nominated in. Brady Keeper of the OCN Blizzard was named MVP, edging out Mackenzie Graham of the Pistons. Keeper was also named Top Defenceman. Pistons’ rearguard Tyler Anderson was one of three nominees.

And the Pistons’ Will Koop lost out to Cole Weaver of the Winkler Flyers for Rookie of the Year.

The MJHL also announced their all-star teams and several members of the Pistons have been named all-stars. Name to the 1st all-star team are goaltender Roman Bengert and forward Mackenzie Graham.  Selected to the 2nd all-star team is defenceman Tyler Anderson.

In addition forward Will Koop was named to the Rookie All-Star Team.